Enneagram TLDR

Fri Feb 10 2023

The Enneagram is a personality typing system that categorizes people into nine different types based on their core motivations, fears, and desires. Each type has its own distinct traits and tendencies, and understanding your Enneagram type can provide insight into your personality, behavior, and relationships.

The Nine Enneagram Types

Type 1- The Perfectionist: Strives for perfection and is highly critical of themselves and others. They have a strong sense of right and wrong and are motivated by a desire to improve the world around them. More about the 1

Type 2- The HelperType 2 - The Helper: Values relationships and is driven by a need to feel loved and appreciated. They are empathetic and nurturing, but can struggle with asserting their own needs. More about the 2

Type 3- The Achiever: Goal-oriented and success-driven, the Achiever is motivated by a need for recognition and validation. They are often competitive and can struggle with work-life balance. More about the 3

Type 4- The Individualist: Creative and expressive, the Individualist is motivated by a need for authenticity and self-expression. They can be sensitive and moody, and can struggle with feelings of envy and inadequacy. More about the 4

Type 5- The Investigator: Analytical and introspective, the Investigator is motivated by a need for knowledge and understanding. They can be reserved and detached, and can struggle with social interactions. More about the 5

Type 6- The Loyalist: Dependable and loyal, the Loyalist is motivated by a need for security and stability. They can be anxious and indecisive, and can struggle with trust issues. More about the 6

Type 7- The Enthusiast: Fun-loving and adventurous, the Enthusiast is motivated by a need for stimulation and variety. They can be scattered and avoidant, and can struggle with commitment. More about the 7

Type 8- The Challenger: Strong-willed and assertive, the Challenger is motivated by a need for control and power. They can be confrontational and aggressive, and can struggle with vulnerability. More about the 8

Type 9- The Peacemaker: Mediating and easy-going, the Peacemaker is motivated by a need for harmony and tranquility. They can be passive and avoidant, and can struggle with asserting themselves. More about the 9

How to Determine Your Enneagram Type

While online tests can provide a starting point for determining your Enneagram type, the most effective way to identify your type is through self-reflection and introspection. Here are some tips to help you determine your Enneagram type:

  1. Consider your core motivations and fears: Each Enneagram type is motivated by a core desire and is driven by a core fear. Reflect on what drives you and what you are afraid of, and see which type aligns with your deepest motivations and fears.

  2. Identify your core traits: Each Enneagram type has a set of core traits that define their personality. Consider your strengths and weaknesses and see which type’s traits most closely match your own.

  3. Consider your childhood experiences: Our childhood experiences can shape our personality and behavior. Reflect on your upbringing and see how it may have influenced your Enneagram type.

  4. Seek outside opinions: Ask friends, family, and colleagues for their feedback on your personality traits and tendencies. They may offer insight into your Enneagram type that you may not have considered.


By understanding your Enneagram type, you can gain insight into your strengths and weaknesses, and identify areas for personal growth. But you can also gain insight into others and the potential applications are only limited by your own creativity.

If you found this helpful, sign up and join 9takes below ⬇️. Of course, you are free to decline, but there is much more to explore. 🚀

Sign up for the 9takes Beta

9takes will be free for the first 1000 users